Jan Willem K Louwerens

After completing his postgraduate degree in Rotterdam, Jan worked at the Central Military Hospital as a medical officer in the Royal Dutch Air Force. Following this, he joined the orthopaedic department of the University Medical Centre, Utrecht where he sub-specialised in foot and ankle surgery. After embarking on a fellowship to the Harborview Medical Centre, Seattle, Jan worked at St Maartenskliniek centre of orthopaedics. Jan chaired the Scientific Committee and was a member of the board of the Dutch Orthopaedic Association from 2007 – 2010. Impressively, he founded and Chaired the Dutch Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Association and is proud to be an Honorary member.

Professor Chris Moran

Professor Chris Moran is National Clinical Director for Trauma for NHS England and a Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery at Nottingham University Hospital. Having trained in Cardiff and Newcastle, Professor Moran undertook fellowships at the Mayo Clinic and University Hospital, Basel. He is a full time surgeon, leading the Trauma Team, with a special interest in surgery for polytrauma, complex articular fractures and the treatment of non-union. He has led the development of the Major Trauma Networks in England, increasing survival rates for major injuries by 25% and is an international adviser on trauma to a number of Governments.

Phil Hammond

Phil Hammond is an NHS doctor, campaigner, health writer, investigative journalist, broadcaster, speaker and comedian. He currently works in a specialist NHS team in Bath for young people with chronic fatigue syndrome/ME. As a comedian, Phil was half of the award winning double-act “Struck Off and Die” with Tony Gardner. He has solo toured the UK three times including appearances at the Edinburgh Fringe and has appeared on “Have I Got News for You” and “Countdown” on numerous occasions. He is a fundraiser and advisor for the Association of Young People with ME as well as the Vice President of the Patients’ Association.

Ivan Brenkel

Mr Ivan Brenkel was born in South Africa and went to medical school in Cape Town qualifying with an MBChB in 1980. Mr Brenkel came to the UK in 1982 where he did his BST training in Leeds and Ipswich and started as a consultant Orthopaedic surgeon in Fife in 1990. Initially, Mr Brenkel was a general Orthopaedic surgeon but soon specialised in knee, shoulder and trauma surgery. For the last 10 years, he has done complex and revision knee surgery only, as well as doing a trauma list once a week. He now lectures on a regular basis in Japan, China, Australia and India on revision total knees using Metaphyseal sleeves. Mr Brenkel published over 90 papers mainly on prospective database, which he set up in 1995 and was chairman of the Scottish Arthroplasty project for 5 years.

Andrew ‘Fred’ Robinson

Fred is a foot and ankle surgeon in Cambridge. He has been a consultant there since 1999. He has a broad foot and ankle practice covering everything from trauma, through diabetes to ankle arthroplasty. Fred was President of BOFAS in 2010/11, having been chairman of the scientific committee for three years before this. Fred has recently been involved in drawing up guidelines on the treatment of the diabetic foot. He is a BOA trustee, deputy editor of the JTO and sits on the Training sub-committee. Fred has enjoyed being on the editorial board of the JBJS serving three years between 2005 and 2008. He started a second term with the BJJ in 2016. He also recommended papers for BJ360 from its inception through to 2016.

Andrej Trampuz

Andrej Trampuz is Professor for Infectious Diseases at the Center for Musculoskeletal Surgery at Charité University Hospital in Berlin, Germany. He received his MD degree from the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia (1994), internal medicine board (1997) and infectious diseases board (2000). During his postdoctoral research fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, USA (2001-2004) he developed the sonication procedure of implants for improved infection diagnosis. He then moved to the University Hospital Basel (2005-2009) and Lausanne, Switzerland (2010-2013) and in 2013 appointed as the Head of the interdisciplinary septic surgery unit at Charité in Berlin. There he leads the international observership program, through which over 100 observers have visited Charité.

Professor Henrik Kehlet

Henrik Kehlet was Professor of Surgery at Copenhagen University and is now Professor of Perioperative Therapy at Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen University, Denmark. He is also an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, UK, the American College of Surgeons, the American Surgical Association, the German Surgical Society and the German Anaesthesiological Society. Professor Kehlet’s research interests have focused on surgical pathophysiology, acute pain physiology and treatment, the transition from acute to chronic pain, postoperative fatigue and organ dysfunction. These efforts have condensed to form the concept of ‘fast-track surgery’ with the aim of achieving the ‘pain and risk-free operation’. Professor Kehlet has published about 1000 scientific articles and has given more than 300 invited lectures at international scientific meetings, including several honorary lectures, the last one being the Excellence in Research Award, American Society of Anesthesiology, 2014.

Professor Henrik KehletADRIAN HENRY LECTURE
Professor Matt Costa

Matt Costa PhD, FRCS (Tr&Orth) Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery at the University of Oxford and Honorary Consultant Trauma Surgeon at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford. Matt’s research interest is in clinical and cost effectiveness of musculoskeletal trauma interventions. He is Chief Investigator for a series of randomised trials and associated studies supported by grants from the UK NIHR, Musculoskeletal Charities and the Trauma Industry. His work has been cited widely, and informs many guidelines from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Matt is Chair of the NIHR Clinical Research Network Injuries and Emergencies Specialty Group and the NIHR Musculoskeletal Trauma Trials Network. He is also a member of the NIHR HTA Research Board. He Chairs the Scientific Committee of the International Fragility Fracture Network and the British Orthopaedic Association Research Committee. He is the President Elect of the Orthopaedic Trauma Society and Specialty Lead in Orthopaedic Trauma for the Royal College of Surgeons of England.